Can I update a book once it’s submitted such as delete or add pictures, change captions?  
You can review and make changes to your book before it is submitted, but after you pay and submit the book it is put into production and cannot be changed or canceled.

That said, you can return to Clearbooks to make changes / edits to the book, but you will need to reorder (pay and submit) the edited book.